Waste Concern

A Government Delegation from Nepal Visits Waste Concern’s Compost Facilities

January 10, 2011

A 8 (eight) member delegation from the Government of Nepal visited Waste Concern’s two compost facilities in Bulta and Katchpur during December 12 to 14, 2010. The team was headed by Mr. Reshmi Raj Pandey, Joint Secretary of the Ministry of Local Development. Mr.Purusottam Man Shrestha, National Project Manager of Public-Private Partnerships for Urban Environment  (PPPUE)  of UNDP was also in the delegation. The major objective this visit by the Nepali delegation was to get first-hand experience  of  waste  management, source segregation of waste and composting linked with carbon trading.

December  12,  2010:

The  delegation  members were welcomed in Waste Concern’s head office at Banani, Dhaka during the first half of the day. Co-founders   of   Waste   Concern,   Mr.   A.   H.   Md. Maqsood Sinha and Mr. Iftekhar Enayetullah gave an introductory   presentation   about   the   overall situation  of  waste  management  in  Bangladesh and also briefed  them  about  Waste  Concern’s approach  converting  waste  into  resource  using carbon  trading.  The  delegation  was  later  taken  to Waste Concern’s  130 tons/day capacity compost plant  located  at  Bulta,  Roopganj,  Greater  Dhaka. After  initial  briefing,  the  Mr.  Sharifur  Rahman, General   Manager   showed   them   around   the facility.   The   delegation   also   visited   Regional Training   Center   (RTC)   having   a   7-10   per   day capacity compost plant located at Katchpur, Narayanganj.

December  13,  2010:

On the second day morning, the delegation met the senior officials of the Department of Environment(DoE) of the Government of Bangladesh.During the second half they visited Square Hospital at Panthapath, Dhaka to experience how bio-medical waste  is managed within a health care facility.

December 14, 2010:

The delegation visited a bio-medical waste treatment facility located near the dumpsite at Matuail, Dhaka. Mr. Sharifur Rahman, General Manager showed them around the facility. List of the delegation members are shown below:

1. Mr.Reshmi Raj Pandey,Joint Secretary, Ministry of Local Development

2. Mr.Binod Prakash Singh, Under Secretary, Ministry of Local Development

3. Mr.Purusottam Man Shrestha, National Project Manager, PPPUE

4. Mr.Ram Lal Shrestha, Executive Officer, Nepalgunj Municipality

5. Mr.Gyatri Raman Ghimire, PPP Focal Point, Dhulikhel Municipality

6. Mr.Shailendra Shrestha, PPP Focal Point, Siddarthanagar Municipality

7. Mr.Ananta Korala, PPP Focal Point, Pokhara Sub-Metropolitan city

8. Mr.Tika Ram Kandel, PPP Focal Point, Bharatpur Muncipality